Skip to content

Goal for 2011: Blog more.

January 4, 2011

I didn’t think I would need to set a goal for myself with regards to blogging more often. I thought I would find the motivation just seeping out of my mind and heart. Well, it’s been almost two weeks since my last blog and nothing’s been really seeping out except for a strong desire to eat chocolate and sleep (ah, Christmas). So, I’m giving WordPress’ “Postaweek2011” a shot. Looking forward to the challenge…

I’ve been working on some topics that I think might be of interest to readers. Most of the topics I’ll blog about will be inspired by some of my clinical work, as well as some of my other interests from the field of psychology. One of the first areas that I’ll be writing about over the next several weeks will be on the topic of addictions. I’ll focus on both addictions to substances (e.g., alcohol, drugs) and behaviours (e.g., sex, gambling). The latter is often referred to as “process addictions.” Looking forward to sharing some knowledge…and developing the habit of blogging more often.

Dr. Richard

From → All Entries

2 Comments
  1. Hello, Dr. Richard. I stumbled upon your blog through the Post-a-Week, and I’m glad I did. 🙂
    I’m a far cry from obtaining a Ph.D. in Psychology, but every thing starts with small steps. I’m in my last 2 years of a psychology BA major, so needless to say, I was rather excited to have “stumbled” across your blog.
    I look forward to reading your posts and definitely learning something. I additionally wish you well in your Post-a-Week commitment!
    Tina

    • Hello Tina, and thank you for leaving a comment! You are the first. Yeah! I completed my Ph.D. in the summer of ’08, so the world of academia is still very fresh in my mind. I’m glad to hear that you’re thinking of a doctorate; it’s a life-changing degree. It requires much sacrifice, an exercise in tenacity, really. But so far (in my opinion) it’s worth it. I can easily recall being an undergrad in psychology and how daunting the idea of completing a Ph.D. really was. However, as you said, just keep taking those small steps. Those steps accumulate, and before you know it, you will have accomplished some great things.

      I look forward to sharing some of my thoughts with other psych. students like yourself, just as much as I look forward to learning from them. It really is a two-way street. The half-life of psychological knowledge is about 5-years. So, half of what we learn in the psychology classroom becomes obsolete every 5 years. That speaks to how quickly the field of psychology changes. It also speaks to the value of dialogue between psychology students and psychologists, and the general public for that matter. I’m looking forward to some of that dialogue here…

      Thanks again for supporting my blog-a-week commitment! Let’s see how it goes.

      Richard

Leave a Reply

